Favourite food from Mamak and discounts at Hawker Malaysian

Written by Brian (@brhinos), Sydney

This post is a mixed bag so in summary, here’s what you can expect:

  • My favourite food from Mamak
  • How to get a discount at Hawker
  • How to get free food at Hawker

If you wind back the clock a few months ago, I posted on  my visit to Hawker Malaysian. I love dining at both Hawker, and sister restaurant Mamak as they offer authentic Malaysian cuisine for reasonable prices. The Sydney Morning Herald seems to agree as it featured both restaurants in their 2017 Good Food Guide as Sydney’s Top 50 Cheap Eats. As a tribute to Mamak, I thought I’d share my favourite food from their menu.

Note: I’ve listed these by section of the menu (starter, main, dessert) with my dishes of choice pictured first.

The starters

IMG_5421

Roti Canai – Pictured in the top right and served with two curry dips and spicy sambal sauce. Honourable mention to the four flat pieces of roti (roti telur) which essentially the same but cooked with an egg in the middle.

IMG_5423

Grilled Chicken Satay – Served with a sweet and spicy peanut sauce. We ordered the Beef Satay as well but the chicken was a lot better in my opinion.

The mains

IMG_4849

Nasi Lemak – Fragrant coconut rice served with sambal, peanuts, crispy anchovies, cucumber and a hard boiled egg. You can have it as above or choose to add extra protein. I usually always add a piece of Fried Chicken, which leads me to my next choice:

IMG_4110

Ayam goreng – Malaysian-style, crispy skinned fried chicken, marinated with herbs and spices.

IMG_4117

Mee goreng – Spicy wok tossed hokkien noodles with eggs, prawns, fish cake slices and fresh bean sprouts.

IMG_4100

Kari kambing – Spicy lamb curry slow cooked until tender.

The desserts

IMG_5422

Ais kacang – A concoction of red beans, corn, grass jelly, rose-syrup and sweetened milk on a mountain of shaved ice.

IMG_4118
Roti tisu – Paper-thin, extra crispy and served tall. Served with ice-cream.

IMG_4843
Roti bom – An indulgent roti served thicker, richer and sweeter than the savoury original roti canai.

How to get a discount at Hawker

After dining at Mamak recently, I went to the counter, paid my bill and discovered something unexpectedly at the bottom of my receipt: A discount for 10% off at Hawker! Next time you dine there, don’t forget to keep your receipt. Redemption instructions below:

IMG_5107

How to get free food at Hawker

Check out the post I wrote about how I managed to win a Feast for Two at Hawker.

Note: the June competition is currently running and closes at 12pm, Friday 17 June 2016.

 

Hawker, 345B-353 Sussex Street, Sydney. Ph: (02) 9264 9315

Mamak, Sydney (Chinatown, Chatswood) & Melbourne
15 Goulburn Street, Sydney NSW 2000. Ph: (02) 9211 1668
1-5 Railway St, Chatswood NSW 2067. Ph: (02) 9411 4411
366 Lonsdale St, Melbourne VIC 3000. Ph: (03) 9670 3137

 

 

Leave a Reply

