I bought a Thermomix and how to make dips and lavosh

Written by Brandon (@brandothepig), Melbourne.

So it happened. I did something I thought I would never do. I bought a Thermomix.

Yes the Thermomix has been recently gained some negative press with multiple reports of safety incidents, but in the five or so months I’ve had my Thermie, I haven’t burnt myself and the lid hasn’t burst open – fingers crossed it stays that way! I am really enjoying my gadget and will even go to the extent of saying I think it’s worth the price tag of a return flight to London. It has actually been a fun journey with my electronic sous chef, like I’ve opened a new chapter to my cooking, learning “how to cook with gadgets”. And so today’s post is about cooking with the Thermomix.

I find the Thermomix is best used when there is a combination of chopping, cooking and mixing, so when it comes to making something like a risotto or a soup, it conveniently fast forwards the cooking process. This is very valuable to me on a weeknight after a long day at the office! I do however find the sweet spot for me is doing a combination of manual cooking with a little help from the Thermomix, just because I have a strange love of the manual process of cooking.

P1170806

One of the most common things we use the Thermomix for are dips with homemade lavosh. I’ve been amazed how the Thermomix makes seemingly challenging food to make from scratch, that much more achievable! But I’ll let you be the judge – enjoy the Lavosh and Tuscan Almond Pesto Thermomix recipes!

P1190303

P.S. You can find out more on my Thermomix experiments on a post I did on My Food Trail, where I made a Thermomix Dutch donut recipe and put it up against my father in-law’s family oliebollen recipe. It was so much fun!


Rosemary Lavosh
Adapted from Devil of a Cookbook by Fiona Hoskin

Chop, mix, knead, rest, cut and bake. It’s as simple as that!

Ingredients

  • A generous handful of rosemary leaves (or any herb)
  • 320g plan flour
  • 1tsp sea salt
  • 150g cold water
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp olive oil (sesame oil can be used too)

Method

1. Chop herbs 5 sec | speed 7. Repeat until desired texture – I do this about 3 times.


2. Add flour and salt. Mix 10 sec | speed 5
3. Add water and egg white. Mix 5 sec | speed 5
4. Knead for 30 sec | closed lid | Interval


5. Place dough onto a well-floured surface and cover. Rest in warm area for 15-30 min
6. Preheat oven to 200°C. Line a baking tray with baking paper

7. Divide dough into 5 balls, rolling each flat until paper thin. Cut and bake for 10-15 min until lightly golden, flipping lavosh over after approximately 8 minutes


Tuscan Almond Pesto / Tapenade
From Keeping it Simple by Tenina Holder

For someone that doesn’t really like olives, I absolutely loved this recipe! It was so delicious and well balanced, but the kicker was incredibly simple it was to make.

Ingredients

  • A small handful of rosemary leaves
  • 65g semi sundried tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 75g kalamata olives, pitted
  • 60g whole almonds
  • 1tsp dried chilli flakes
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 15g balsamic vinegar
  • 80g extra virgin olive oil
    Pinch pink salt flakes to taste

1. Chop herbs 5 sec | speed 7. Repeat until desired texture
2. Add all other ingredients and press turbo 3-4 times until chunky texture is achieved


Written by Brandon (@brandothepig), Melbourne.

Leave a Reply

