I won an Instagram competition – Hawker Malaysian

Written by Brian (@brhinos), Sydney

I’ve been using Instagram sporadically for years until about 6 months ago, under a mountain of food photos and after years of snapping away, I made a decision to start posting these pictures daily.

Eventhough it’s felt like a chore at times, I’ve really enjoyed learning about food photography, using filters, all the while making new foodie friends. As fun as that’s been, one of the highlights of the last few months has definitely been winning an Instagram giveaway competition.

IMG_3042

Chaw Kway Teow – spicy wok tossed rice noodles with eggs, prawns, cockles, Chinese sausage & bean sprouts

The Restaurant: Hawker Malaysian, a restaurant I’d visited a few times previously and enjoyed their food. Also a big fan of their sister restaurant, Mamak.

The prize: A Feast for Two

The competition: Upload a photo taken from Hawker. Follow and Tag @HawkerMalaysian and a friend. HASHTAG #HawkerMalaysian #Feastfor2

As with most Instagram competitions, it was that simple.

So I decided to enter. And to my surprise, I WON!

The winning entry:

IMG_3233

Penang White Curry Mee – Egg noodles & vermicelli with prawns, cockles, cuttlefish, blood jelly & tofu puffs, in a milky seafood broth. Served with fragrant chilli paste

After hearing the good news, I’d won a “Feast for Two” but I didn’t quite understand what that was. To clarify, I emailed Team Hawker. They replied “with the prize offer, you and your friend can order any items on the menu to your heart’s content.”

My heart (and stomach) skipped a beat.

To read about my Malaysian “Feast for Two” at Hawker, stay tuned for the next post.

In the meantime, Hawker run this competition monthly. For a chance at winning this prize, keep an eye out on their instagram account, @HawkerMalaysian for the next competition in March 2016.

 

One thought on “I won an Instagram competition – Hawker Malaysian

  1. Pingback: Hawker, Malaysian Street Food in Sydney | Twin Discoveries

Leave a Reply

