The Food Trends I Ate In Melbourne This Year, 2015

Written by Brandon (@brandothepig), Melbourne.

It sounds like a cliche, but really, I cannot believe the year has gone by SO quickly. In the blink of an eye, it’s Christmas again. When I look back, there’s been plenty of highs and lows, and I’ve certainly learnt a lot about life and about myself.

As 2015 comes to a close, I’m taking the time to reflect and look back at the year that was. From a food perspective, it was amazing. The foodgasms were many, far and wide, across our travels around Australia, the Americas and Asia.

What were my favourite food memories of 2015?

It’s such a tough question for any foodie to answer. I decided to try and blog about it. I tried to narrow it down to my top 10. Which quickly became my top 20. Then my top 35. It soon got impossible.

I tried to make some progress by limiting my scope to just Melbourne. It didn’t make it much easier, but I did notice there were several trends to the way I was eating in my home town.

It’s kind of funny, but there is definitely a common theme of … A LOT of SUGAR/CARBS!

It’s not a complete list by any means, just a grouped bunch of my Instagram photos (that’s right, doesn’t include the few thousand obsessive food photos I have haha). This post also doesn’t include some of my ultimate 2015 favourites, but below is a fun peek into some of the Melbourne food trends I explored in 2015. Enjoy!

 

The year of the donuts

Ascot Food Store, 320 Ascot Vale Rd, Moonee Ponds, Melbourne VIC 3039
Bistro Morgan, stocked at cafes around Melbourne
Candied Bakery, 81A Hudsons Rd, Spotswood, Melbourne VIC 3015

The year of the crazy shakes

Naughty Boy Cafe, 3499-501 Lygon St, Princes Hill, Melbourne VIC 3054
Woven Cafe, 175b Stephen Street, Yarraville, Melbourne VIC

 

The year of breakfast being the new dessert

Freckleduck cafe, 131 Malop St, Geelong VIC 3220
5 Lire Cafe, 116 Errol St, North Melbourne VIC 3051
Hendriks Cafe, 105/107 White St, Mordialloc, Melbourne VIC 3195
Mammoth Cafe, 736 Malvern Rd, Armadale, Melbourne VIC 3143
Axil Coffee Roasters and Cafe, 322 Burwood Rd, Hawthorn, Melbourne VIC 3122

 

The year of the burger

Grand Trailer Park Taverna, 87 Bourke St, Melbourne VIC 3000
Mammoth Cafe, 736 Malvern Rd, Armadale, Melbourne VIC 3143
Cafe 51, 51 Buckhurst St, South Melbourne VIC 3205
8 Bit Burgers, 8 Droop St, Footscray, Melbourne VIC 3011
The Kettle Black Cafe, 50 Albert Rd, South Melbourne VIC 3205
YOMG Glen Waverley, 65-67 Kingsway, Glen Waverley, Melbourne VIC 3150

 

The year of the sugar rush

LuxBite, 38 Toorak Rd, South Yarra, Melbourne VIC 3141
Butterbing Cookie Sandwiches, stocked at cafes around Melbourne
Candied Bakery, 81A Hudsons Rd, Spotswood, Melbourne VIC 3015
Gazi Restaurant, 2 Exhibition St, Melbourne VIC 3000
Agathe Patisserie, South Melbourne Market Stall, 64/362 Coventry St, South Melbourne VIC 3205
Mork Chocolate Brew House, 150 Errol St, North Melbourne VIC 3051

I think I know why I have put on 5kgs+ this year…

For more of my foodie adventures in 2015 and beyond, check out @brandothepig or the other food blog I’m writing for at My Food Trail.

Bring on a bigger and better 2016!!

Cheers,
Brando The Pig

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Food Trends I Ate In Melbourne This Year, 2015

  1. Pingback: The Food Trends I Ate In Sydney This Year, 2015 | Twin Discoveries

Leave a Reply

