Cow and the Moon Gelato and Mandorla Affogato

Spending the last 2 years overseas has left me with a long list of new places to visit, one of which is a little gelateria in Enmore named the Cow and the Moon. Flashback 2 years ago when I was living in Sydney, Gelato Messina was my pick of the city, where I took all my visiting friends and I’d never heard of this other place. Now, it’s hard to hear one of these two names without an argument of which one is better. I had to find out for myself.

IMG_1409

To my surprise, Cow and the Moon is not a new kid on the block. It’s a family run business that has been operating for more than 5 years. Their sudden thrust in the limelight can be attributed to Mandorla Affogato, a flavour the Crowl family created and submitted into the Gelato World Tour in Italy, which subsequently took out the top prize in September 2014. Business has sky rocketed ever since and this gelateria  has earnt it’s place in the previously Messina dominated gelato market.

So what is the Mandorla Affogato you may ask? In a sentence: Kenyan single origin espresso, Salted Caramel sauce and roasted caramelized almonds mixed in Madagascan Vanilla Bean Gelato. Sounds good and I was about to find out.

IMG_1413

I tried 4 flavours in total. 2 gelato – Mandorla Affogato and Lamington and 2 from the sorbet side – Apple Wasabi and Lychee & Coconut.

The sorbets tasted good and were refreshing but I couldn’t taste much wasabi or lychee. They would make great palate cleansers between a main and dessert but they lacked the boldness and allure of the creamy counterparts I was about to sample.

The first spoonful went in and that was it. The Lamington tasted like the best Lamington I’d ever had. All of the elements you would expect from a standard Lamington were there – jam, desiccated coconut, sponge cake and chocolate, enhanced with a creamy boost and a cold gelato texture.

Then, it was time for the Affogato. I felt like I was drinking an affogato except time had stopped. The rich creaminess, the spectacular coffee and the crunchy texture of the caramelized almonds simultaneously took me on an adventure and secured my gelato eating patronage for life. If there’s only one flavour you try, this is the one! If you can’t stick to just one flavour, I hear the passionfruit cream (2015 Australian champion gelato) and the watermelon sorbet are also quite good.

And finally, to answer the question if this place is better than Gelato Messina, I’d say taste the Mandorla Affogato and make up your own mind. My first choice would be to go to Messina due to location (6 stores around Sydney plus they also make awesome gelato) but if there were two stores, side by side, my choice would change. Cow and the Moon would get first dip into my pocket and Mandorla Affogato would be my order.

Cow and the Moon – Gelato/Coffee/Dessert Bar

181 Enmore Rd, Enmore, Sydney

Written by Brian (@brhinos)

One thought on “Cow and the Moon Gelato and Mandorla Affogato

  1. Pingback: The Food Trends I Ate In Sydney This Year, 2015 | Twin Discoveries

Leave a Reply

